top of page

CardioVascular Coalition Commends Bipartisan Lawmakers for Warning Against Proposed Cuts to Revascularization Services

Oct 19, 2018

CVC supports bipartisan group of lawmakers for signing letter to CMS opposing the proposed 30% cut in the CY 2019 Physician Fee Schedule Proposed Rule 

WASHINGTON– The Cardiovascular Coalition (CVC), a consortium of physicians, care providers, advocates, and manufacturers working to improve awareness and prevention of peripheral artery disease (PAD), today praised a bipartisan group of lawmakers for cautioning against proposed cuts to revascularization services used to prevent amputation in PAD patients.

In a letter submitted yesterday to Centers for Medicare & Medicaid (CMS) Administrator Seema Verma, 23 bipartisan lawmakers expressed concern that the CY 2019 Physician Fee Schedule (PFS) Proposed Rule would inappropriately cut reimbursement rates for performing revascularization procedures, which are vital for clearing patients’ arteries of dangerous clogs and significantly preventing thousands of unnecessary amputations. The Proposed Rule would slash payments for revascularization services performed in an office-setting by as much as 30 percent.

Yesterday’s letter, led by Congressman Erik Paulsen (R-MN) and Donald Payne (D-NJ), follows previous letters to CMS that emphasized the critical need to prevent unnecessary non-traumatic amputations from occurring. Revascularization services are critical for achieving this goal. Data show as many as 200,000 non-traumatic amputations take place each year in the U.S.

“In order to protect a critical tool in the arsenal against amputation, we urge you to work with stakeholders to properly value revascularization services in the 2019 PFS Final Rule as we expect that stakeholders will be submitting data on these missing inputs and other misvalued services,” the lawmakers wrote to Verma.

In addition to Congressmen Paulsen and Payne, Representatives Joyce Beatty (D-OH), Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ), Carlos Curbelo (R-FL), Vicente Gonzalez (D-TX), Lynn Jenkins (R-KS), Mike Kelly (R-PA), Leonard Lance (R-NJ), Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX), Kenny Marchant (R-TX), Luke Messer (R-IN), Gregory Meeks (D-NY), Tom Reed (R-NY), Tom Rice (R-SC), David Phil Roe, MD (R-TN), Peter Roskam (R-IL), Dennis Ross (R-FL), Bobby Rush (D-IL), Pete Sessions (R-TX), Glenn “G.T.” Thompson (R-PA), Fred Upton (R-MI) and Frederica Wilson (D-FL) also signed the letter.

bottom of page